University of Iowa 2024 spring semester dean's list honorees announced


IOWA CITY – More than 7,650 undergraduate students at the University of Iowa were named to the dean's list for the 2024 spring semester.

Dean's list status was earned by 1,063 first-year undergraduates during the 2023 spring semester at Iowa, 1,752 second-year students, 2,041 third-year students, and 2,807 fourth-year students.

Guidelines for inclusion on the list are:

Degree seeking undergraduate students in the Carver College of Medicine, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, the College of Education, the College of Engineering, the College of Public Health, the Tippie College of Business and University College who achieved a grade-point average (GPA) of 3.50 or higher on 12 semester hours or more of UI graded coursework during a given semester or summer session and who have no semester hours of "I" (incomplete) or "O" (no grade reported) during the same semester are recognized by inclusion on the dean's list for that semester.

Undergraduate students in the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine may qualify for the dean's list with fewer than 12 semester hours of graded credit, if deemed appropriate by the college.

College of Nursing students participating in clinical courses who have a total of 12 semester hours of earned credit, with eight semester hours of graded credit with a GPA of 3.50 or higher.

Area students named to the list, in alphabetical order, are:

Eli Garside of Dunlap (College: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Major: Cinema; Year: fourth-year)

Ava Goldsmith of Logan (College: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Major: Journalism and Mass Communication; Year: second-year)

Virginia Iversen of Missouri Valley (College: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Major: Art History; Year: second-year)

Faith McPhillips of Honey Creek (College: College of Education; Major: Art Education; Year: fourth-year)

Christian Ortner of Missouri Valley (College: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Major: Psychology; Year: second-year)

Gwen Peters of Logan (College: College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; Major: Political Science; Year: fourth-year)

Kael Smith of Woodbine (College: College of Education; Major: Science Education; Year: third-year)